Fences and Perfection

So today’s writing prompt is fences. Well that is not entirely true, as it is now yesterday, but I felt so awful about not being able to log on and write something that I can publish. I have been working on a post about a life experience that is near and dear to me but it is not ready.

…Have any of you had something that you wanted to write or have written that has taken days??? Wow. I can honestly say that when I started this blog I never intended to share anything that would take me that long to think through and write. Granted I do have lots of interruptions (unless I am writing between the hours of 1 and 3 a.m. and then it’s no holds bared except against my own sluggish mind or fingers) – but still…

So I was working on that and never got a chance to come back, so now instead of writing about one of the half a dozen things I contemplated yesterday (maybe this post should be called YESTERDAY instead of fences with all the references I have already mad to it!) I am writing about fences, because I liked the word. We all have “fences” in our lives. Good or bad they are there. One of my most recent fences that I build myself is that I would write and post everyday. I set it up thinking what a great goal, but it is more than that as not “publishing”  a post has shown me. It’s a fence, a constraint, one more thing for me to fail at. No, I didn’t intend for that to be the case, at least not consciously, but there it is all the same. Why do we do that to ourselves? Gahhh *Puts face in palms of hands*

We make things that are not of the utmost importance, top priority. Now don’t misunderstand me. I am not saying that specifically about writing. It could be anything. Also, writing has been an enormous outlet for me the last few days. I am not negating that. What I am saying is that I put an expectation of perfection on myself. I will fall short at times. and you know what? That’s OKAY. I can do my best and not be perfect (thank God).

So here’s the deal. My gate in the fence that I built if you will. I am still going to consider myself part of the post a day club, I will do my best to actually publish; said post, but if I don’t, I will make up for it somehow. It could be two posts the next day or an especially long post (Eee gad! lol) another time. Because that’s a post, not a publish. Yes, I am aware it’s a technicality, but for goodness sake we need those sometimes. We need to be able to jump our self imposed fences that are not there to protect us or others, but cause us undue burden, expectation, or the ever elusive and unattainable-  perfection.

~Anonymous

Leave a Reply

